In the early years, Powell River’s first hospital was located in a tent which was then replaced with a bunkhouse. After the arrival of Dr. Henderson in 1911, St. Luke’s Hospital was completed in 1913.The hospital was located next door to Dr. Henderson’s home.
With Powell River’s newfound sophistication, St. Luke’s (now known as the Kenmar Building) was finished in a different style or character on each of its three floors. For example, the third floor was painted in a flat white with a sharp ‘ hospital white’ trim. The overall effect gave Powell River’s first professional hospital a distinct character.
Architecturally the building is significant for the manner in which it was designed, as the hospital replicates two of the Powell River Company’s original apartment blocks, both of which have now been demolished.
Explore our site for more information on the history of the Townsite, and enjoy a virtual tour of the historic district as well!
Townsite Walking Tour: Here you can take a virtual stroll through Powell River’s Historic Townsite with a commentary on each tour stop.
6211 Walnut Street,
Powell River BC V8A 4K2 Canada
+1 604 483 3901